Back to top

Faculty Officers

Per Rules and Regulations of the Faculty, there are three elected officers of the MIT Faculty: Chair, Associate Chair, and Secretary. The Faculty Officers are assisted in their work by the Faculty Governance Administrator.

Professor Susan Silbey
                  Professor Susan S. Silbey


Professor Susan S. Silbey is the Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology, and Professor of Behavioral and Policy Sciences, MIT Sloan School of Management. Professor Silbey is interested in the governance, regulatory and audit processes in complex organizations. Her current research focuses on the creation of management systems for containing risks, including ethical lapses, as well as environment, health and safety hazards. Professor Silbey is the recipient of numerous prizes and awards including a John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship (2009) and a Doctor Honoris Causa from Ecole Normale Superiere Cachan in Paris (2006). She is Past President of the Law & Society Association, and a fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.

Professor Rick Danheiser
               Professor Rick L. Danheiser


Professor Rick L. Danheiser is the Arthur C. Cope Professor of Chemistry. Current investigations in his laboratory involve the development of new strategies for the synthesis of complex molecules and their application in the total synthesis of natural products. Other interests of Professor Danheiser include "green chemistry", reproducibility in science, and laboratory safety. Honors awarded to Professor Danheiser include the Cope Scholar Award of the American Chemical Society. At MIT, Professor Danheiser's educational contributions have been recognized with a MacVicar Faculty Fellowship, the School of Science Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Education and the Prize for Graduate Education, as well as the MIT Graduate Student Council Teaching Award.

Professor Craig Carter
Professor W. Craig Carter


Professor W. Craig Carter is the POSCO Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. Professor Carter’s recent work focuses on the science of battery materials. He and Professor Yet-Ming Chiang have co-founded a company, 24M, to produce grid scale energy storage solutions. Professor Carter has also collaborated with Professor Neri Oxman on several projects that incorporate aspects of materials science, natural design, and mythology. Their work has been added to the permanent collections of MoMA, the Smithsonian, and the Pompidou Center. Professor Carter is a MacVicar Fellow and has received the MIT School of Engineering Bose Teaching Award. His use of Mathematica in the classroom was honored with a Wolfram Innovator Award.



Dr. Tami Kaplan has served as Faculty Governance Administrator since September 2015. She first joined MIT in 2003, holding positions first in the Office of Development Research and Systems, and then in the Office of Foundation Relations. She began her career as Assistant Professor of Linguistics and Director of ESL Programs at the University of Iowa.