About the Committee


The Committee on the Library System shall consist of six elected Faculty members, two graduate student members, two undergraduates, two postdocs, and the following ex officio members: the Provost (or representative), the Head of Information Services and Technology (or representative), and the Director of Libraries and two members of the Library Staff designated by the Director.

  1. The Committee on the Library System, with the advice of the Director of Libraries, shall formulate policy for the administration of the Libraries consistent with the objectives of the Institute.
  2. The Committee shall serve as liaison between the Libraries and their users.
  3. The Committee shall review budget allocations as prepared annually by the Director of Libraries.
  4. The Committee shall monitor and uphold the MIT Faculty Open-Access Policy, which details the process for disseminating scholarly research.