## Killian (James R Killian Jr. Faculty Achievement Award Selection Committee)

Each year the James R. Killian, Jr., Faculty Achievement Award Selection Committee chooses one member of the MIT faculty to be the Killian Award Lecturer for the following academic year. The Award was established in the spring of 1971 as a permanent tribute to Dr. James R. Killian Jr., President of the Institute from 1948 to 1959 and Chairman of the MIT Corporation from 1959 to 1971. The purpose of the Award is to recognize extraordinary professional accomplishments by MIT faculty members and to communicate these accomplishments to members of the MIT community. The recipient of the Killian Award holds the title of Killian Award Lecturer for one academic year and during the course of this year presents one or more lectures to the MIT community on his or her own professional activities. The Selection Committee consists of faculty members elected by vote of the Faculty from a slate prepared by the Faculty Nominations Committee.

Prof. Roger White, Chair (June 30, 2024) Linguistics & Philosophy

Prof. Eran Ben Joseph (June 30, 2024) *Urban Studies & Planning* 

Prof. Sangeeta N. Bhatia (June 30, 2024) *Electrical Engineering-Computer Science* 

Prof. Robert Merton (June 30, 2024) Sloan School of Management

Prof. Marin Soljacic (June 30, 2024) *Physics* 

Dr. Tami Kaplan, Staff to Committee

Office of the President

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: \* Ex Officio Voting

Ex Officio Non-Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

L On Leave