Presidential Committee on Distinguished Fellowships

The members of the Committee on Distinguished Fellowships conduct interviews in October and November with applicants for various international scholarships, and provide feedback to the Chair of the Committee as well as the students themselves. The committee then meets to evaluate and rate the applicants for the Fulbright Grant and to select two nominees for the Churchill Scholarship.

Prof. William Broadhead, Co-Chair (June 30, 2026) History Section

Prof. Nancy Kanwisher, Co-Chair (June 30, 2026) *Brain & Cognitive Sciences*

Prof. Nikhil Agarwal (June 30, 2026) Economics

Prof. Raymond Ashoori (June 30, 2026) *Physics*

Prof. Lydia Bourouiba (June 30, 2026) Civil and Environmental Engineering

Prof. John W. M. Bush (June 30, 2025)

Mathematics

Prof. Nikta Fakhri (June 30, 2025) *Physics*

Prof. Marzyeh Ghassemi (June 30, 2026) *Electrical Engineering-Computer Science*

Prof. William E. Grimson (June 30, 2024) Chancellor's Office

Prof. Thomas Heldt (June 30, 2025)

Electrical Engineering-Computer Science

Prof. Stefan Helmreich (June 30, 2024)

Anthropology Program

Prof. Darrell J. Irvine (June 30, 2025)

Department of Biological Engineering

Prof. Chris Kaiser (June 30, 2026) Biology

Prof. John J. Leonard (June 30, 2025) Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Pierre Lermusiaux (L) (June 30, 2025) Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Thomas Levenson (June 30, 2025) Comparative Media Studies/Writing

Prof. Anne E. C. Mccants (June 30, 2025)

History Section

Prof. John A. Ochsendorf (June 30, 2026)

Architecture

Prof. Jay Taylor Perron (June 30, 2025)

Earth, Atmospheric & Planetary Sciences

Prof. David Pesetsky (June 30, 2024) *Linguistics & Philosophy*

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

Ex Officio Non-Voting

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

Non-MIT MemberL On Leave

term expiration.

Presidential Committee on Distinguished Fellowships

Prof. Drazen Prelec (June 30, 2026) Sloan School of Management

Prof. Margery Resnick (June 30, 2026) *Literature Section*

Prof. Frances Mary Ross (June 30, 2024)

Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Marin Soljacic (June 30, 2026) *Physics*

Prof. Scott Stern (June 30, 2025) Sloan School of Management

Prof. Julien G. Tailleur (June 30, 2026) *Physics*

Prof. Jessika Trancik (June 30, 2026)

Inst for Data Systems and Society Profs

Prof. Lawrence Vale (June 30, 2025) Urban Studies & Planning

Prof. Yufei Zhao (June 30, 2026)

Mathematics

Mr. Kartik Chandra, GSC Representative (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Harrison Ngue, GSC Representative (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Elliot Akama-Garren, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Ms. Alaleh Azhir, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Dr. Joel Brenner (June 30, 2026)

Center for International Studies

Ms. Emily Gooding, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Dr. Alison Hynd (June 30, 2026) *PKG Center*

Dr. Jennifer I. Lai, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Ms. Francesca Macchiavello, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Mr. John Mikhael, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Charlotte Minsky, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Ms. Katie O'Nell, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Mr. Thomas Roberts, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Mr. Andrew Schulert (June 30, 2026)

Dr. Serenella Sferza (June 30, 2024) Center for International Studies

Dr. Samantha Dale Strasser, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2024)

Department of Biological Engineering

Ms. Kathleen M. Wren (June 30, 2026)

Institute Office of Communications

Ms. Megan Yamoah, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

Ex Officio Non-Voting

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

L On Leave

Presidential Committee on Distinguished Fellowships

Ms. Olivia Zhao, Fellowships Alumni Member (June 30, 2025)

Ms. Kimberly L. Benard, Staff to Committee Career Advising & Professional Devt

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

10/25/2023