Commencement Committee

The Commencement Committee is charged with guiding planning for MIT Commencement with recommendations that combine community values, Institute policy, and feasibility. The Committee's work includes: confirming the elements of the OneMIT Commencement ceremony; guiding planning for the undergraduate ceremony; making recommendations for elements that are appropriate for the six advanced degree ceremonies; and serving as a resource to Schools as they plan their events.

Prof. James Michael Poterba, Chair (June 30, 2024)

Economics

Prof. Nikta Fakhri (June 30, 2025)

Physics

Prof. Pablo Jarillo Herrero (June 30, 2024)

Physics

Prof. Leslie Keith Norford (June 30, 2024)

Architecture

Prof. John A. Ochsendorf, Faculty Marshal (June 30, 2025)

Architecture

Prof. Joel Voldman (June 30, 2024)

Electrical Engineering-Computer Science

Mr. Andre Hamelberg, UA President, 2023-2024 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Penny Brant, President, Class of 2024 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Megha Vemuri, President, Class of 2025 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Mikala Molina, GSC President, 2023-2024 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Amy Huynh, GSC Vice President, 2023-2024 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Tal Gilad, Student G (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Jacob Cohen (June 30, 2024)

Sloan School of Management

Ms. Elizabeth Lennox, Assistant Faculty Marshal (June 30, 2024)

Office of the Provost

Ms. Elise Perkins (June 30, 2024)

Alumni Association CEO

Dr. Denzil Streete (June 30, 2026)

OVC Department Heads

Mr. Aaron Weinberger (June 30, 2024)

Office of the President

Ms. Elizabeth Cogliano Young (June 30, 2024)

Undergraduate Advising Center

Mr. Brian E. Canavan, Registrar *

OVC Department Heads

Mr. Ted E. Johnson *

Institute Affairs

Ms. Rebecca J. Tyler *

Institute Affairs

Mr. Michael Bishop #

School of Science

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

12/5/2023

Commencement Committee

- Mr. Jonathan Carter # Schwarzman College of Computing
- Ms. Tiera Giurleo # School of Engineering
- Ms. Natalia Nazarenko Georgieva # School of Humanities, Arts, & Social Sci
- Ms. Monica M. Orta # School of Architecture & Planning
- Ms. Tara E. Walor # MIT Sloan Student Services
- Ms. Kristina Kastrinelis, Staff to Committee Institute Affairs

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting # Ex Officio Non-Voting L On Leave

^ Non-MIT Member