Curricula, Committee on

The Committee on Curricula serves to implement the General Institute Requirements and Course Curricula for undergraduates, including acting with power on: a) proposals for changes in the Institute requirements and making recommendations to the Faculty; b) proposals for Science Distribution and Laboratory subjects; c) requests from individual students for exceptions to the General Institute Requirements; d) proposals for changes in undergraduate subjects of instruction; e) proposals for new curricula, changes in existing curricula, and the discontinuation of existing curricula; and f) reviewing departmental reports on individual student's programs that include major departures from an approved curriculum.

The Committee on Curricula consists of six elected Faculty members, four undergraduate student members, and the following *ex officio*, nonvoting members: the Vice Chancellor (or designee), the Registrar, one member designated by the Vice Chancellor, and the Chair of the Committee on the Undergraduate Program.

Prof. Chris Kaiser, Chair (June 30, 2026) Biology

Prof. Sana Aiyar (June 30, 2024)

History Section

Prof. Rohit Karnik (July 1, 2025) [on leave Spring 2024] Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Yen-Jie Lee (June 30, 2024) [term starts February 2024] Physics

Prof. Robert C. Miller (June 30, 2024)

Electrical Engineering-Computer Science

Prof. Phiala E. Shanahan (June 30, 2026) *Physics*

Prof. Nikolaos Trichakis (June 30, 2025) Sloan School of Management

Ms. Audrey Cui, Student '24 (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Lleyton Elliott, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Blisse Kong, Student '24 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Favour Oladimeji, Student '24 (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Brian E. Canavan, Registrar #
OVC Department Heads

Prof. William Detmold, Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor # (June 30, 2024) Physics

Prof. Alexandra H. Techet, Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor # (June 30, 2024)

Mechanical Engineering

Ms. Martha Janus, Staff to Committee Registrar

Ms. Alison R. Trachy, Staff to Committee Registrar

Ms. Pam Walcott, Executive Officer Registrar

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

Ex Officio Non-Voting

L On Leave