## Undergraduate Program, Committee on the

The Committee on the Undergraduate Program exercises oversight for the undergraduate academic program including the freshman year, the General Institute Requirements, and other interdepartmental educational activities. The Committee considers proposals that would establish or change educational policies related to the undergraduate program, and it makes appropriate recommendations on these proposals to the MIT Faculty. One of the CUP's particular responsibilities is in encouraging innovation and experimentation in undergraduate education and therefore, it has the authority to approve limited educational experiments and grant exceptions to existing policy and procedure in these cases.

The Committee on the Undergraduate Program consists of seven elected faculty members, the Associate Chair of the Faculty, four undergraduate student members, and, *ex officio*, the Chancellor (or designee), the Vice Chancellor, and one member designated by the Vice Chancellor.

- Prof. William Minicozzi, Chair (June 30, 2026) Mathematics Prof. Adam Albright (June 30, 2024) Linguistics & Philosophy Prof. Megan A. Black (December 31, 2023) History Section Prof. Laurie Ann Boyer (June 30, 2026) Biology Prof. Elly Nedivi, Associate Chair of the Faculty (June 30, 2025) Brain & Cognitive Sciences Prof. Nemit Shroff (June 30, 2025) Sloan School of Management Prof. T.L. Taylor (June 30, 2024) Comparative Media Studies/Writing Prof. William Tisdale (L) (June 30, 2025) Chemical Engineering Prof. Lindley Winslow (June 30, 2025) **Physics** Mr. Alex Brennan, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)
- Mr. David Kwabi-Addo, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)
- Ms. Arya Sasne, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)
- Ms. Angela Zhao, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)
- Prof. Susan S. Silbey, Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor \* (June 30, 2024) Anthropology Program
- Prof. Ian A. Waitz, Vice Chancellor \* *Chancellor's Office*
- Prof. Lizhong Zheng, Designated Representative, Chancellor \* (June 30, 2024) Electrical Engineering-Computer Science
- Ms. Genevre Filiault, Executive Officer Registrar
- Ms. Sarah L. Michaud, Staff to Committee Registrar

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: \* Ex Officio Voting

#

- Ex Officio Voting A Non-Mill R Ex Officio Non-Voting L On Leave
- Non-MIT Member
  On Leave