Building Committee

The role of the Building Committee is largely unchanged since its inception in 1949. It is responsible for longrange space planning and utilization for the Institute and for land acquisition strategy. In conjunction with the Committee for Renovation and Space Planning (CRSP), the Building Committee provides oversight for all aspects of campus planning and stewardship - consistent with MIT 2030 - to enable emerging research directions, changes in educational delivery, on campus housing for undergraduates, affordable housing for graduate students, and enhancements to student life and learning. It is responsible for reviewing and endorsing new capital projects valued at \$5 million and over. In addition to guiding the long-range planning for MIT's campus environment and its facilities, it oversees planning, design, and construction for international collaborations.

- Prof. Cynthia Barnhart, Co-Chair Office of the Provost Mr. Glen Shor, Co-Chair Office of the Executive VP & Treasurer Ms. Diane B Greene Chair of the Corporation Prof. L Rafael Reif Office of the President Prof. Melissa Nobles Chancellor's Office Ms. Katie Hammer Office of the Executive VP & Treasurer Mr. Joe Higgins Office of the Executive VP & Treasurer Ms. Julie A Lucas Vice Pres for Resource Development Mr. Steven C Marsh MIT Investment Management Company Prof. Seth Mnookin, Chair, Committee on Campus Planning # (June 30, 2023) Comparative Media Studies/Writing Prof. Brent Ryan Urban Studies & Planning Prof. Hashim Sarkis School of Architecture & Planning Mr. Jon H Alvarez, Guest Campus Services & Stewardship Mr. Matthew K Eynon, Guest Vice Pres for Resource Development Ms. Elizabeth Vena, Guest **Development Planning & Initiatives**
- Ms. Melissa Stopa, Staff to Committee Campus Planning

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

- ^ Non-MIT Member
- Ex Officio Non-Voting L On Leave