From: Leonid Kogan chair_of_edgerton@mit.edu

Subject: Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award Nominations

Date: December 13, 2024 at 11:39 AM
To: all-faculty all-faculty@mit.edu

LK

Dear Colleagues,

I am writing to request your assistance in identifying candidates for the 2024-2025 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award, which is presented each year to an outstanding non-tenured member of the MIT faculty.

The award, which recognizes exceptional distinction in teaching, research, and service, was established in 1982 as a permanent tribute to Institute Professor Emeritus Harold E. Edgerton for his great and enduring support for junior faculty. Tenured faculty and faculty whose tenure decision is mandatory this year are ineligible. The winner will receive an honorarium of \$10,000 as well as Institute-wide recognition for their achievements.

A complete nomination consists of **three** items:

- 1) A letter (maximum of five pages) summarizing the candidate's contributions to teaching, research, and service to the MIT and/or professional communities. A strong letter of nomination will explain the significance of the nominee's research and publications record to non-specialists and include brief quotations from other MIT faculty, staff members, or students. We encourage you to include in the letter an executive summary, as well as to highlight significant publications and teaching evaluations; information on current research support and pending proposals could also be helpful. Tip: Previous years' committees have found that letters with good descriptions of the impacts of the nominee's research and testimonials from other colleagues about teaching and service were more persuasive than those with detailed technical accounts of research (i.e., as if writing for peers in their discipline).
- 2) A current curriculum vitae in the standard format for the candidate's School or Department (Faculty Personnel Record preferred when available).
- 3) A record of teaching evaluations and subjects taught.

NOTES:

- 1. Additional supporting letters are not needed and should not be submitted.
- 2. Self-nominations are not accepted.

A list of previous award recipients is attached.

Nominations are due by 5pm EST on Friday, January 24, 2025, and should be emailed to Dr. Tami Kaplan (tkaplan@mit.edu). Dr. Kaplan would also be pleased to answer any questions about the nomination process.

Thank you for your help in identifying candidates for this distinguished award.

Sincerely,

Leonid Kogan (MIT Sloan) Chair, Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award Selection Committee

On behalf of the committee:
Richard Braatz (Engineering)
Kate Brown (SHASS)
Kristel Smentek (SA+P)
Michael Williams (Science)

Leonid Kogan Nippon Telephone and Telegraph Professor Sloan School of Management, MIT 100 Main Street, E62-636 Cambridge, MA 02142

Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award Recipients

2024	Erin Kara Physics	2012	Tanja Bosak Earth, Atmospheric, & Planetary Sciences
2023	Ellen Roche Mechanical Engineering/IMES Justin Solomon Electrical Engineering and Computer	2011	
	Electrical Engineering and Computer Science		Brain and Cognitive Sciences
2022	Amy Moran-Thomas Anthropology	2010	Markus J. Buehler Civil and Environmental Engineering
2021	Desirée Plata Civil and Environmental Engineering	2009	Krystyn Van Vliet Materials Science and Engineering
	Justin Steil Urban Studies and Planning	2008	Jay Scheib Music and Theater Arts
2020	Alex Shalek Chemistry	2007	Nergis Mavalvala Physics
2019	Vivienne Sze Electrical Engineering and Computer Science	2006	David I. Kaiser Program in Science, Technology, and Society
2018	Vinod Vaikuntanathan Electrical Engineering and Computer Science	2005	Erik Demaine Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2017	Amos Winter Mechanical Engineering		Emma Teng Foreign Languages and Literature
2016	Katharina Ribbeck Biological Engineering	2004	Catherine L. Drennan Chemistry
	Jesse Thaler Physics		Muriel Medard Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
2015	Kay Tye Brain and Cognitive Sciences	2003	Hari Balakrishnan Electrical Engineering and Computer
2014	Nickolai Zeldovich Electrical Engineering and Computer Science	2002	Science Peter H. Seeberger
2013	Graham Jones	2002	Chemistry

Anthropology

Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award Recipients, cont.

2001	Justine Cassell Media Arts and Sciences	1988	Peter C. Perdue History
	Seth Lloyd Mechanical Engineering	1987	Sylvia T. Ceyer Chemistry
2000	L. Mahadevan Mechanical Engineering	1986	Jeffrey H. Lang Electrical Engineering and Computer
1999	Tania Baker Biology	1985	Science Robert C. Berwick
1998	Steven B. Leeb Electrical Engineering	1984	Computational Linguistics Joshua Cohen
1997	Julie Dorsey Architecture		Political Science Jae S. Lim
1996	Anne E. C. McCants History		Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
1995	Jacqueline N. Hewitt Physics	1983	Isabelle de Courtivron Foreign Languages and Literatures
1994	Martha L. Gray Electrical Engineering and Computer Science		Warren P. Seering Mechanical Engineering
1993	Jesús A. del Alamo Electrical Engineering and Computer Science		
1992	Henry Jenkins Literature		
1991	Mehran Kardar Physics		
1990	Stephen L. Buchwald Chemistry		
1989	John N. Tsitsiklis Electrical Engineering and Computer		

Science