## **Reactor Safeguards Committee**

The primary concern of the Reactor Safeguards Committee is with matters of nuclear safety related to the MIT Research Reactor, including the safety of personnel on and off site. The committee reviews and approves all new operating plans and policies, all significant modifications thereto, and all new experiments involving significant changes in procedure prior to implementation. The committee verifies that nuclear reactor operation is consistent with MIT policy, rules, approved operating procedures, and license provisions.

- Prof. Dennis G. Whyte, Chair (June 30, 2024) Dept Heads Vice President for Research
- Prof. Jacopo Buongiorno (June 30, 2026) Nuclear Science and Engineering
- Dr. Tolga Durak \* Campus Services & Stewardship
- Prof. Benoit Robert Yves Forget (June 30, 2024) SoE Dept/Lab/Center/Director Org
- Dr. Charles W Forsberg (June 30, 2026) Nuclear Science and Engineering
- Mr. John P Foster \* Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
- Mr. Mitchell S Galanek \* Environment, Health & Safety Office
- Dr. Lin-Wen Hu (June 30, 2024) Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
- Dr. Gordon E Kohse \* Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
- Dr. Stuart A. Maloy (June 30, 2026) Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- Dr. William B McCarthy \* Environment, Health & Safety Office
- Dr. Thomas H Newton (June 30, 2026) Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
- Dr. Sean O'Kelly (June 30, 2026) Idaho National Laboratory
- Dr. Edward E Pilat (June 30, 2025) Nuclear Science and Engineering
- Prof. Koroush Shirvan (June 30, 2026) Nuclear Science and Engineering
- Mr. Ronald M. Thurlow (June 30, 2026)
- Prof. Ian A. Waitz \* Vice President For Research
- Ms. Susan S. D. Tucker, Secretary # Nuclear Reactor Laboratory

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: \* Ex Officio Voting

#

Ex Officio Voting ^ Non-MIT Member Ex Officio Non-Voting L On Leave