Discipline, Committee on

The Committee on Discipline (COD) considers cases of alleged misconduct by students and student organizations that are brought to its attention. The Committee acts with power in all circumstances, including suspension and expulsion of a student from the Institute, revocation of a degree, revocation of recognition for a student group, and loss of a student organization residence. A COD decision to suspend or expel a student, revoke a degree, revoke recognition of a student group, or terminate a student organization residence may be appealed to the Chancellor on grounds described by the COD Rules & Regulations.

The Committee on Discipline consists of six elected members of the Faculty, three undergraduate and three graduate students, and, *ex officio* voting, the Vice President and Dean for Student Life and the Vice Chancellor, or their representatives. Past members who have completed their terms may, for a period of three years thereafter, be called to fill out a quorum for a particular hearing, only one such member to serve in a given hearing.

Prof. Tamar Schapiro, Chair (June 30, 2025) *Linguistics & Philosophy*

Prof. W. Craig Carter (June 30, 2026)

Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Joseph A. Formaggio (June 30, 2025) *Physics*

Prof. Carol Matsuzaki (June 30, 2024)

DAPER Intercollegiate Sports

Prof. Norvin W. Richards (June 30, 2026) *Linguistics & Philosophy*

Prof. Jay R. Scheib (June 30, 2024)

Music and Theater Arts Section

Prof. Patricia J. Tang (June 30, 2024)

Music and Theater Arts Section

Mr. James Shaw, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Ellie Vaserman, Student '25 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Sarah Zhao, Student '24 (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Alexandra Forsey-Smerek, Student G (June 30, 2024)

Mr. AJ Miller, Student G (June 30, 2024)

Mr. Yuexuan (Vincent) Zu, Student G (June 30, 2024)

Ms. Leslie R. Bottari, Designated Representative, VCDSL/VC * (June 30, 2025) Undergraduate Advising Center

Ms. Tasha N. Coppett, Designated Representative, VCDSL/VC * (June 30, 2025) Residential Life Programs

Ms. Nina Deagrela, Designated Representative, VC/DSL * (June 30, 2026) Intercultural Engagement

Mr. David C. Elwell, Designated Representative, VCDSL/VC * (June 30, 2024) OVC Department Heads

Ms. Genevre Filiault, Designated Representative, VCDSL/VC * (June 30, 2024) Registrar

Ms. Beth A. Marois, Designated Representative, VCDSL/VC * (June 30, 2025) Office of Graduate Education HQ

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

Ex Officio Non-Voting

L On Leave

Current Committee Membership

Discipline, Committee on

Ms. Tessa McLain, Executive Officer
Office of Student Conduct

Mr. James E. Reed, Staff to Committee Office of Student Conduct

 $\label{eq:NOTE:Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.}$

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member